Getting Started Guide For The Absolute Beginner (UPDATED!)

I figured it was time to update this guide. Since first writing it, I have discovered a much better and much easier way of working with Panda3D. I was planning to delete my first guide, but I decided to leave it, as it might be useful for reference.

Note: I use Windows, so this guide is geared towards Windows users. But I’m pretty sure the steps are much the same for the other operating systems.

Well, here it is, the new and improved:

Getting Started Guide For The Absolute Beginner

When you’re brand new to Panda3D it can be very confusing and frustrating trying to figure out how to make it work. So this is my attempt at a step by step guide to get you started.

The first thing new users of Panda3D should note is that Panda3D is a development tool; NOT an application. What does this mean? It means, that unlike all the other programs on your computer, you won’t find any program icons or shortcuts to start it. To run Panda3D you must write a python script which tells it exactly what to do.

The following steps may look a bit complicated, but they’re not really, just follow along with each one and you’ll soon be up and programming in no time.

Download and install Panda3D

1. First, visit panda3d.org/ go to the “Downloads” section and download the latest version of Panda3D (as of writing this is version 1.2.3). For Windows users download panda3d-1.2.3.exe.

2. When the download has finished, double-click the Panda3D icon to begin the installation process.

3. When the installation finishes, test that Panda3D has been successfully installed by running the ‘Panda Greeting Card’ demo (if it does not run automatically when the installation finishes, click Start > All Programs > Panda3D 1.2.3 > Panda Greeting Card).

Create a folder for your project