Cracking open Python objects in C++

Greetings all!

This might be off-topic, as it straddles the line between scripting and source editing. But there’s more C++ in the question than Python, so it seemed appropriate to drop it here.

I am attempting to write an external python module to speed up some transformations I’m doing on a PNMImage. I’ve got the entire algorithm laid out in Python code, and it works correctly. But since I need to touch every pixel, it’s too slow; to me, this screams “Move the code into C++ for efficiency.”

I’m extremely new to writing Python modules, but I think I have a handle on the basic ideas (PyArg_ParseTuple, etc). The point where I’m stumped is how to take the PyObject reference to the PNMImage that is passed in to my module by Python and crack it open to get to the C++ layer of the object. Ideally, I’d like to access the object’s contents via the C++ methods provided by pnmImage.h:

static PyObject *
image_voodoo(PyObject *self, PyObject *args) {

PyObject *myImgWrapper;

if (!PyArg_ParseTuple(args, "O", &myImgWrapper))
       return NULL;

PNMImage *myImg = <what I need to do to get the C++ reference >;

double firstRed = myImg->get_red(0,0);  

.. etc ..

… then the rest of the module would make this function accessible as mymodule.imageVoodoo(myPnmImage)

Thank you for your help!

The answer is different for Panda3D 1.0.5 than it is for Panda3D 1.1.0 and later. I’ll answer assuming you are writing for 1.1.0.

There is a file in the Panda3D sources (specifically, in dtool/src/interrogatedb) called py_panda.h. Within this file is the structure definition:

struct Dtool_PyInstDef
{
        PyObject_HEAD
        void                 * _ptr_to_object;
        bool                   _memory_rules;
        unsigned long          _signiture;
        struct Dtool_PyTypedObject * _My_Type;
};