xxxToEgg Problems

My first post … Let me first say that I hope to be a frequent contributor on this board. I am new to Panda3D and Python but so far I am excited as the Panda3D engine appears to be incredibly powerful.

I am experiencing a problem with maintaining the proper texture coordinates of 3D models whenever I convert them from VRML/LWO to EGG format using vrmltoegg and lwotoegg. This does not happen for all textured models, it is intermittent. I believe that it is only happening for those models where all of the textures are squeezed onto a single image.

My procedure for converting models is as follows:
Load model into Deep Exploration
Save as VRML2 or LWO
Convert the saved file with vrml2egg or lwo2egg

Note that I am using deep exploration to convert the original models from other formats. I have however, rendered these models without a problem with my own OpenGL 3DS model loader/renderer so I know that the problem IS NOT Deep Exploration.

[color=red]Has anyone else seen this problem?
Has anyone found a solution to this problem?

Thanks in advance,
Paul

Here is an example:

Original Image rendered in Deep Exploration

Converted Image rendered in Panda

Hmm, I’ve never seen or heard of that problem before. Are you sure that the DeepExploration program is correctly writing the VRML/LWO files? You could prove this by re-importing (back into DeepExploration) the VRML/LWO file after you write it out. It might also be worthwhile trying to import the file into some program other than DeepExploration (and other than Panda), for instance, any VRML viewer you can find on the net.

I suspect DeepExploration, rather than Panda, because you say the same problem happens on both VRML format and LWO format–but vrml2egg and lwo2egg are two completely different programs, so it would be very strange if they both produced exactly the same error. It’s not impossible, of course, but it seems unlikely.

David