wow pampus

hi, im new to this panda engine, a friend of mine mentioned that i should take a look into. im searching for the right solution for a idea im working on.

here a couple of questions:

-> is maya supported by panda?
-> how about instancing
-> how much performance i loose by developing in python instead of c++?
-> any reservation by using a p3d for web?
-> why you kicked out ditus? i thought he is a nice and helpfull person?
-> how about htsrp? (huge texture split rendering procedure)

best wishes
q

Hi welcome to the community

After you install Panda, there should be exporters for it in Panda3D-X.XX/bin/maya2eggX there are few I guess they are for different versions of Maya. I don’t use Maya myself, so I can’t tell you more, sorry. If Maya supports exporting to .x format, you can use that with Panda, too.
panda3d.org/manual/index.php/C … _from_Maya

This kind of instancing?: panda3d.org/blog/

I don’t think there are real comparisons, but Disney used it for his 2 MMO games, so probably not very much. And also you can use both of them in the same project.
Well thats all I can answer

hi, thank you for the nice welcome :slight_smile:

yes, this instancing looks like the one i need, but how flexible is it? is it possible to change the color for each instanced object? how about a animated objects, example here at your trees, is it be possible, to have more alternation in? so, if im doing a vertex animation, like spinning and/or expand some branches and the trunk, would it be possible to set for each tree a defined frame at the animation? it should not be a animated object in the scene, only to have more variations in.

q

Hello again ditus.

My apologies for forgetting to apply an IP ban besides the username ban.

In order not to be entirely unhelpful:

Yes, it is possible to do that.