work together

Hey I’m pretty new to game development, my only experience is in web design and programing cgi with python.
Was wondering if there were people like me who would like to work on something together and learn everything.

I’m focusing on making something 2d right now.

hope to hear from people^^

I just got a few questions to help us get to know you better. I am fairly interested in working with someone else on a learning type project but I have gotten burned in the past when everyone decided to go “pro” and I just didn’t have the time to participate.

What kind of project exactly are you looking at?

What do you expect to see from fellow developers?

Do you have programming experience in other languages?

How tolerant are you? :stuck_out_tongue:

Well, there are many small and mid-sized projects looking for every man they can get.
For learning purposes it depends on if you’d prefer someone else’s ideas and probably also code, or if you’re looking for someone to begin something completely new. Inthe latter case you learn more about project management, planing and that sort of skills. if you’re only after coding, there are quite a few open source groups around with work-in-progress programs. Just take a look at these forums and you’ll already get a few dozens.

Oh and seeing you want to start in 2D: sometimes restricting yourself to 2 dimensions is harder than simply using the engine for what it is intended: 3D.

Lol what do you mean ‘go pro’? That sucks, I’d like to go pro someday, but I’m just getting into game programing. I’ve done some things in the past(stuff with pygame, Javascript & canvas games) so I probably won’t be going pro and ditching a friend too soon.

-I said 2D because I like the medium and game design won’t be as difficult(I only have to work in 2 dimensions). But doing so in a 3d engine will allow me to play with models, cool effects, and depth. Plus it’ll be slightly a challenge like you said.