Why should a World class be created?

As one would expect from the subject, I am a beginner in Panda3d.
I still didn’t get why should a World class (ancestor to DirectObject) be created and then instantiated before calling run().
In fact I couldn’t find an answer to it in the manual or by examining the examples.

Well… its just convenience, actually. Not really necessary or so. You can do it differently, if you need. But, if your game keeps getting bigger and bigger, it might be a very good idea to organize everything into classes instead of having just one huge file.

Ok… But why the World class has DirectObject as its ancestor? I’ve seen no great advantages about that…

DirectObject is a class where you can add event hooks to. If you have a class inheriting from DirectObject, you have the advantage of being able to do self.accept (the accept() function is provided by the DirectObject) to listen for events.
Of course, you could just create an instance of DirectObject, or use plain messenger.accept, but many users find this more convenient.

Ok, thanks a lot!

DirectObject is a stupid class and you just not inherit from it. It just pollutes your name space.

If you want to add hooks just use base.accept() or messenger.accept() or what ever. I find DirectObject highly messy thing that should not exist.

Instead just create class Word or class Game what ever with out the DirectObject crutch. DirectObject is not a new style class so it might byte you with the newstyle/old style python classes.

Meh, it’s just a style preference. If you’re used to the highly object-oriented coding style in which everything inherits from a single common class, then DirectObject can be that class. If you prefer a looser, more ad-hoc inheritance hierarchy, there’s nothing compelling you to use DirectObject.

David