What's a clean way of separating the game into "scenes&

I’m just getting started with Panda3D and I’ve noticed that 99% of the code I’ve stumbled upon seems to be centered around a monolithic class derived from ShowBase and it seems like there can be only one of these around without running into problems.

Cocos2D has the nice concept of scenes with a diagram to illustrate what sort of functionality I’m looking for. As far as I can tell Panda3D does not come with anything like this built in, so I’m going to have to roll my own, which means that sooner or later I will run into problems of some sort and it makes more sense to learn from the experiences of others than to make too many of my own mistakes.

So how have you managed different scenes in the past? What sort of classes did you use? What did you inherit them from? How did you trigger and handle transitions between the scenes? And what are the “best practices” here?

That looks a lot like something a finite state machine could do, which is something that Panda provides. You can, if you want, separate these stages into classes, such as Menu() and Highscores() that you can create in your enterXX methods of your FSM.

The usual Panda example code looks something like:

[code]

class App(ShowBase):
def init(self):
# set everything up

a = App()
a.run()

...so it seems a bit, um, non-obvious how one would go about doing this. Do I create new classes that inherit from ShowBase? (e.g. MainMenu, Game, CutScene.) How would I go about swapping out the current ShowBase subclass instance? etc.

One approach might be to keep one ShowBase subclass around and fire off events to different other classes, whatever the current one might be. I guess I'm gonna go down that road.

Usually you have exactly one ShowBase instance that is instantiated very early.