Uber Newbie question - collision detection

From reading the “manual” It seems that triangle mesh collision ( “collision with geometry” ) detection is quite expensive on the CPU. Is that true of Panda3D? Do I really need to spend the time to create special nodes around each object I want the player to colide with?

I’m very new to 3D programming and python. So please pardon my ignorance.

I have somewhat of a programming background, and it seems like it is a waste of time to create a “world” with double objects. One for visuals and the other for collision detection. Is this how everyone does it? Is there no way to automate this? I just want to make sure I am reading correctly.

Most of my experinece is in shell and c++ programming. eheheheh… I’m way our of my field, ain’t I?

I have seen other engines make it much simpler. I don’t mean to compare engines. I’m not saying one is better than the other. However, I do need to point out an example so what I am saying can be understood.
Example: Irrlicht
To get collision detection with a “map” object and the “player” it is very simple. It’s a matter of about 20 lines of code. If you like you can throw in a real physics engine like ODE. This is also quite trivial. You don’t have to “create special collision geometry, such as spheres and polygons, to determine collisions.” It’s fast too. See for yourself: http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/tut007.html

So ultimately my question is: Is “create special collision geometry, such as spheres and polygons, to determine collisions” the norm in 3D engines these days? Should I expect that from any engine and just stick to Panda3D because I would need to do that with any engine?

Also, can I get some docs on the “collision with geometry” method mentioned in the “manual”?