Trouble getting 3ds max model into panda3d

I have an animated and textured character model in 3ds Max 2011. I have tried two methods, both of which have their problems.

First method: 3ds Max -> export as OpenCollada -> Import to Blender 2.63a -> export to egg using YABEE r12.

For some reason, when I try to view this in the panda3d model viewer, I get a bunch of errors like this:

column 26:
      <TRef> { arms_normal }
                         ^
Unknown texture arms_normal

Second method: 3ds Max -> export as OpenCollada -> dae2egg

When I open this egg file using panda3d model viewer, I don’t see my animation or my textures. I just see an outstretched model that is completely white.

I am new to blender and panda3d as well, so please explain to me like I am 5 years old.

You can try the model here:
mediafire.com/?p43x2j8nbm3bg54

Unless you use version 2013 then there are exporters for 3dsmax in the Panda3D\plugins dir.
The exporter can do a good job writing animated egg files as long as you use bones or the biped system. Helpers, dummies, geometry is a no-go.

Where is the maxegg exporter? I’m looking in /usr/share/panda3d/plugins, but all I see there are:

MayaPandaTool.mel
TagSelectedObjects.ms

There should be maxegg*.dlo and some .dle ( maximport*.dle? can’t remember -but for exporting only the .dlo is needed). If the files are not there then maybe you are using some buildbot version?
But what I think you’re trying to do is run the plugin as a max-script and that’s not how they work. Take a look here:
www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Conver … Studio_Max

I see now. I have to install the Windows version of panda3d to get the maxegg plugins.

I’ve put the maxegg2011.dlo into the plugins folder. But when I run 3ds Max, I get an Error Loading DLLs:

DLL <C:…\PlugIns\maxegg2011.dlo> failed to initialize. Error code 193 - %1 is not a valid Win32 application.