Time to get Scene Editor working in 1.2.3

I’m brand new to Panda3d. As far as I can tell no one is currently working on getting the Scene Editor working in 1.2.3.

I sat down tonight and fixed a few things and now the GUI atleast starts and lets you load scenes and things. Having never used the editor before I’m not sure how buggy it was before, but it seems to be awfully buggy now, I think there are still another wave of inport style errors needing to be ironned out.

I created a patch that can be applied to the SceneEditor folder in the source for 1.0.5.

Get the Patch here

If anyone has a chance can you try some common features and report back to this thread about problems with them?

Has someone else already done this work? If so, can you clue the rest of us in?

thanks,

Jaren Peterson
Kaysville, Utah

I got up today and realized the SceneEditor is slightly different in CVS and actually has a few of the things I patched up already done. I created a new patch to patch up the CVS version which is probably a better direction to go anyway. So go ahead and get the SceneEditor code from cvs, its in the doc folder for some reason ( can anyone explain? ).
Here is the new patch.

Does anyone even think fixing the SceneEditor is worthwhile?
Is everyone using something else since the editor has been broken for so long?[/url]

I guess I just found out why the editor hasn’t been fixed in all this time. A full day without a single comment or word of encouragement. I guess this project is basically dead without the CMU students. I’ll wander back to Ogre3d and leave it to them in the fall.

Jaren