Terrain Glow / Many lights

Hello everybody :slight_smile:
I am new to Panda3D. I in a progress of creation of wireless networks propagation tool and I want to use Panda3D to visualize the results of calculations.

I have read the most of the manual and reviewed all examples. These were really useful. However, I still have got one problem.

I would like to apply different glow / lights to some surface, to some flat object (plane or cube or whatever). I am currently thinking of two possible solutions: glow and many point lights.

However I don’t know how to create the glow programmatically on the surface of some object. The example shows how to create glow using a map built into a model. Can someone give me some hints how to do it in python?

Second thing are point lights. I would need hundreds or thousands of point lights to visualize the wave intensities at given point. I have read that it would be rather not possible because of performance issues (the number of lights as I presume should not be bigger than lets say 10 or so). Am I thinking correctly?

I also thought about fog but did not get any good results.

Please share some thoughts about how to accomplish this.

Thanks in regards :slight_smile:

Hi, and welcome to Panda3d

so . basically. you want to visualize the simulation of electromagnetic waves?
like some sort of water-like simulation where waves propagate through air?
if so, i’d go for animated texture. no matter if you swap images or use video textures. using python to manually manipulate pixels during runtime will propably too slow. and as you said. the number of lights should be kept low too.

can you describe what sort of data you’r trying to display? are those 2d-arrays? textures? volumes? are they animated or static?

Hi, thanks for quick reply.

I want to visualize 2d data on some surface (floor). No waves are needed to be visible, only a smooth color transitions, like in WinProp program:

No animation is needed.