Target selection

Greetings,

I am fairly new to Panda3d and I’ve just finished going through all of astelix’s “Panda3d Collisions made simple” examples. I have used them to setup an environment/floor&wall collisions/basic actor movement/camera movement. I create an “enemy” on the map, but I’ve come to a problem when I tried to make a target selection system.

My first idea was to create a semicircular CollisionPlane centered on the player extending out using the camera’s heading and then pivoting it clockwise until it hit an enemy CollisionSphere. Being able to define the shape/size of the plane I could restrict the range with which a player could target objects. After I messed around with adding the CollisionPlane for a while, I came to the conclusion that the plane will always be a rectangle of the same size. I then abandoned this notion.

Next, I tried using isInView. I envisioned grabbing all of the “enemyTargetNodes” that were in the camera’s view and then (just to have a simple target selection) select the closest enemy then when nextTarget() is called the next closest enemy is selected, and on…
I attached a CollisionNode with a generic ‘TargetCollider’ tag to the “enemy.” I wanted to be able to have different types of enemies all using the same target tag name instead of having to check to see if it saw EnemyType1 or EnemyType2… or EnemyType 9001. Using one “enemy” as a test, I had a "Target: " onscreentext update when I would execute the target selection. It displayed “Target: TargetCollider” which was a start, but now I cannot figure out/think up a way to access the attributes/methods within the Enemy class. getParent() returns the ActorNode’s Armature which wasn’t really any help in my situation.

Is there an easier way of going about making a targeting system?
Are there any real “tutorials” for Panda3d out there or should I just continue to deconstruct the examples of others to get a greater understanding?