Suitability to task...

Hello all,

I am a long time lurker. I have been skulking around these boards for months and now I want to know for sure…

I am a technical Artist. I have been mostly programming in maxscript and HLSL for the last 3 years. 15 years 3d experience before that. I would ultimately like to use Panda3d to make hobby games, but right now I want something more specific.

I want an engine that will allow me to create ‘in-game’ demo material. Panda is attractive to me because of python. My work has me using python more and more as we work away from maxscript, but I am still only up to making small utilities.

I need something that will allow me to demo my strengths, which right now is shader development. Aside from the automatic shader generator, how open is Panda to custom shader development. How flexible is the Render pipeline?

Are there limits in lighting, shadows, alpha-blending, render to texture I should know about? Can I play with the more graphic programmer intense stuff like taking control of how Panda handles geometry batching? Is it possible to do differed rendering, or is it forward rendering only?

I would like to use it as a platform for making demos of advanced shader techniques. Is the reasonable? Or am I barking up the wrong tree and maybe need to look at something else…

My personal opinion: