Starting out looking for tips for showing binocular images from numpy arrays (plus an error)

I am a noob, have just worked through the hello world tutorial. Before I even get into my problem, I should say my goal with panda3d – I’m showing visual stimuli in research, and I want a looping movie in the left side, then a gray stripe in the middle, and a similar looping movie on the right hand side. So far I’ve been creating animations using vispy/numpy/OpenGL with standard translation/scaling/rotations in homogeneous coordinates, but panda3d looks very promising and scalable so I want to try it.

The strategy I’m thinking might work is to build numpy arrays I want to show (they are different on each side), and display them on the left and right as textures (maybe using StereoDisplayRegion?), and do transforms on the textures while keeping the camera centered (0,0,100) xyz and (0,-90,0) hpr. So I’d use lerp intervals and sequences to move them relative to the fixed camera.

Does this seem like a good strategy for me to be aiming toward with Panda3d? Like I said, I’ve just done the hello world example so I may be missing obvious strategies.

At any rate, since that’s my strategy, I’ve been trying to figure out how to show a numpy array as a texture/image. For instance:

from direct.showbase.ShowBase import ShowBase
from panda3d.core import Texture 
import numpy as np 

#Create random numpy array
texture = np.ones((512,512), dtype = np.uint8) #make textures a power of 2
texture[200:205,:] = 0 #black line

class MyApp(ShowBase):
     def __init__(self):
        ShowBase.__init__(self)
        self.imageTexture = Texture("image")
        self.imageTexture.setup2dTexture()  #could give more params
        self.imageTexture.setRamImage(texture)     

app = MyApp()
app.run()

I get the following error:

AssertionError: compression != CM_off || image.size() == do_get_expected_ram_image_size(cdata) at line 5498 of c:\buildslave\sdk-windows-amd64\build\panda\src\gobj\texture.cxx