Special Features of Panda3D?

I’m a computer science student studying graphics engines, and I was wondering; what are the special features of Panda3D?

By this I mean, why would you use Panda3D and not another one. What tasks are it better at - or can do at all - then other engines cannot?

Going by other forums, I’ve noticed the following:

1. Good documentation
  2. Easy to use
  3. Only Python-based engine
  4. Good Gui and sound
  5. Friendly community
  6. Supported by Disney

What I’m looking for is features like 3 and 4. While 6 is neat, I don’t know WHY Disney is using it, and not another one. I know “better” depends on what you’re trying to use it for, but any comments would be greatly appreciated.

We (at Disney) like it because:

• Developing powerful applications with Panda is very fast
  • It doesn’t get in your way when you want to do something unusual
  • It runs well on a wide variety of hardware, from high-end to low-end
  • It’s mature, robust, and solid
  • It includes all of the conversion tools we need
  • We know it pretty well, having developed it originally

The last point isn’t a selling point for other people, of course. :slight_smile: But I think the first five are strong points in Panda’s favor, that many other open-source engines lack or are not nearly as good at.

David

i can second drwr. especially the rapid development.
i once had a meeting, after it was over i started to make a small prototype application discussed. it took me ~1hour to get it up running. i got contracted right away. so i could say. panda can help you getting a job :slight_smile:

I agree with Thomas and David, and here’s my points I’d like to add: