SOS guys

Guys, im new to this panda3D engine… and i happen to bump in to your website and find it very useful for the proposed game for our thesis… Well our problem is we dont know where to start… We’ve been learning c++ for quite sometime now, still, we have no idea where and how to start… Does anyone of you have the time to tutor us, or me to start our 3D game? thank you guys!mail me at stephenjohn_borja@yahoo.com

Good Day and More power to panda3D! :stuck_out_tongue:

Hello and welcome to panda3D !

first off… why would you want to use c++ if you dont know how to use it? try python. if you know how c++ works you can learn python in a single day.

for your question where to start. look at the manual link is in the navigation bar above.
the chapters wit (CXX) are c++ related. since the manual pages doesnt allow ++ it was changed in xx. there are the most basic information you need to get started. for the rest you have to hit the api-reference or the sourcecode.

once again. panda was made to be used with python.most of us do and it has a significant number of advantages.

if you have questions. those are best answered here on the forum so others can learn from it,too.

well at first we were using java as our main tool to create the 3D game using eclipse… but it seems the resources were few so we shifted to c++… we were adviced that c++ is the best tool to create such 3D Rpg games(which we proposed for our thesis).

Can you enlighten us with more ideas such us, what language best suited to create the game, how will it be coded and where to start, and what are the compatible graphics software to be used for creating the game.?

most of your questions are answered in the manual.(link is above in the navigation bar)

the nice thing with panda is. it’s written in c++ but programmed in python :slight_smile:
so you get all the c++ speed at engine-level while having all the advantages of python as programmer.