[Solved]UV maps in Max 2009?

Is there a known issue with the 2009 exporter not handling UV maps? It seems to work fine in previous versions of Max, but one of the 3D artists I’m working with has 2009, and won’t switch (sigh), and none of his UV maps work.

Basically, the model acts as if there is no UV unwrap at all when a texture command is called. Again, anything in previous versions has gone through with no problems.

I searched through others’ exporter woes, but didn’t see anything for this. Has anyone tried it?

I don’t know. I don’t have a copy of Max 2009, so I can’t debug it. Someone with that version would need to debug the problem.

I have 2009 and i have some technical knowledge of the EGG format… if you want, i can take a look.

Afaik the exporter can just export one channel. So if he uses more than one, he will run into troubles.

That would be great, thanks. I mostly just want to see if this works for anyone else, and if it’s just something he’s doing differently. As far as I know, it’s only one channel. Have you exported a mesh with UV in 2009 and had it work with Panda?

So, I have done more tests with this, and it’s definitely some sort of inconsistency between the 09 exporter and the previous versions.

When an object is exported with a UV texture, and just the egg is loaded, the object appears perfectly normal. The setTexture() command does not work, however, for that texture or any other image file. If the texture file is renamed or moved, a link seems to be broken between them, and the object never appears normally textured again. In previous Max exporters, I can apply any image as a texture, and it comes up perfectly UV’d.

I am truly baffled here. I’m pretty sure I can’t really debug this myself, but anything to get me pointed in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Have you tried applying the override parameter to setTexture(), e.g. node.setTexture(newTexture, 1)?

David