solved:problem in DirectEntry support Asian languages ?

hi! Everybody,
I am a beginner in panda3d. I got some problem in DirectEntry supporting Asian languages.
I am using Windows 7 Professional version and Panda3d 1.7.2.
Can anybody help me.

My case:
I can’t use DirectEntry to get the input of Asian Language, event I can display initialText correctly.
I check the DirectEntry.py, and I found that.
The self.guiItem.getTypeEvent() can be trigged, if English or Number has been inputed. But not for Asian language.

Then I tried Tkinter.Entry() to get the input of Asian language. It can be got and displayed correctly for Traditional Chinese, Simplified Chinese and Japanese.

And I found the strange phenomenon,if I toggled between Tkinter.Entry() and DirectEntry():
The self.guiItem.getTypeEvent() can be trigged sometimes, if Chinese has been inputed.
And I can get big5 code for Traditional Chinese Input, GB code for Simplified Chinese input, ? for unicode input. Surely wrong display.

I got 2 question:

1. How to trig self.guiItem.getTypeEvent(), if Chinese has been input?

2. How can I get the current code page information from IME of windows

Sorry for my poor English.
Can anyone tell me, if you know the problem or answer?

Thanks

It’s a shot in the dark, but if there are ? for unicode maybe the font you use has no asian letters?

I’m sorry that I don’t understand very clearly what you are asking.

1. getTypeEvent() is supposed to be triggered when typing Chinese text via the IME. In general, it will trigger an event each time the candidate text is accepted and added to the string.

2. The result is always returned in Unicode, or whatever encoding you have configured Panda to use (which may be utf-8 by default).

As wezu points out, it is important to ensure that your font has the correct definitions for all of the characters you will be typing.

David

At the begginning, getTypeEvent() can’t be trigged, if Chinese txt has been input.