Sciboy's errors (Cause i'm no programmer...)

Any help would be appreciated. =)

I am running Debian Unstable, and am compiling with makepanda.py --everything --use-nvidiacg

sciboy@Lappy:~/applications/panda3d-1.0.4$ built/bin/ppython samples/Feature-Tutorials--Joint-Manipulation/Tut-Eve.py 
DirectStart: Starting the game.
enumerate is already present in __builtin__
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "samples/Feature-Tutorials--Joint-Manipulation/Tut-Eve.py", line 13, in ?
    import direct.directbase.DirectStart
  File "/home/sciboy/applications/panda3d-1.0.4/built/direct/../../direct/src/directbase/DirectStart.py", line 3, in ?
    from direct.showbase import ShowBase
  File "/home/sciboy/applications/panda3d-1.0.4/built/direct/../../direct/src/showbase/ShowBase.py", line 9, in ?
    __builtins__["config"] = ConfigConfigureGetConfigConfigShowbase
NameError: name 'ConfigConfigureGetConfigConfigShowbase' is not defined

Hope to get the engine running soon,
Sciboy.

Not sure what’s going on there, but I’m installing debian right now. Maybe once it’s installed, we can work through this together.

• Josh

I’m trying to build under debian. I installed debian 3.0r4, which appears to be the latest version of debian. However, the software versions are very old: python 2.1, for instance, and gcc 2.95. There appears to be a command:

apt-get dist-upgrade

which is supposed to upgrade me to the latest versions of everything, but it seems to be happy with the old versions that I already have.

What am I not getting here?

Ok, you need to change which packages you are using, you are currently using the stable packages or Woody.

In /etc/apt/sources.list
You just need to change “stable” to “unstable” where ever you see it and then dist-upgrade.

That should bring you to the latest versions. =)

eg.

deb ftp.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free

Then you can use apt-cache to search for packages eg. the latest kernel…

apt-cache search kernel-image