render.setShaderAuto() having no effect

Hi, I’m new to the community. I am a fairly experienced programmer looking to familiarize myself with panda3d. I’m working with the engine in python, installed with pip in vscode.

I’m following along this tutorial by Thaumaturge, but the line “render.setShaderAuto()” has no effect on how the models are rendered in my game window. I’m hoping someone more familiar with the engine can help me out. The code I’m running is a near exact copy of that on Thaumaturge’s github linked at the bottom of the tutorial. I’ve even copied it in exactly to test if there was a problem in the code, but that seems to have been ruled out. Any ideas?

Hello, I’m glad you’re interested in using Panda3D. It’s not always the most straightforward engine to use. That being said, I think we could use a little bit more detail about your setup.

Now, your models – did you make them in Blender or so? What format are they? How are you loading them into your scene?

Keep in mind that set_shader_auto() (or setShaderAuto() as it were) is not intended to be a modern renderer solution. So if you want to do PBR rendering for instance we could recommend different solutions.

Of course, Thaumaturge may like to weigh in considering the question is mainly about their specific tutorial.

Greetings, and welcome to the community! I hope that you find your time here to be enjoyable and helpful! :slight_smile:

So, as to the tutorial and “setShaderAuto”, let me ask a few things to start with:

• First, are you using the models from the tutorial, or other models?

• Second, what output are you seeing in the console?

• Third, what version of Panda are you using?

• Fourth, what are you system specs?

• And finally, have you modified the Panda3D configuration files (i.e. the “.prc” files) at all?

This is true!

Still, I do think that “setShaderAuto” is perhaps a good place to start when learning the engine, as it’s a simple way to get better-than-unshaded rendering.