Rain -> Help with approach

Hi everybody

It’s probably best to put a little introduction before I start to pick your brains. My name is Elvar Orn Unnthorsson and I am a Bsc student in Reykjavik University here in Iceland. I am currently working on a project where I’m trying to create rain in a virtual environment. I tampered a little bit with Panda last semester where I created a simple world that had clouds, fog and miasma, created with the built in particle system and fog, and the user could change colors and position of those phenomenons in runtime.

This time I’m aiming a little bit higher.
My goal this time around is to create rain which includes numerous raindrops that can vary in size, shape, position etc. and on top of that be affected by things like wind (that would affect raindrops that it collides with). I would like this to be designed so (hopefully in the future) that this could be used by more engines that Panda3D.

What I looking for are suggestions of approaches I can use to accomplish my goals. I’m quite certain I need to use shaders which as of now I do not have any experience with but am interested in learning and using.

How should I create this rain? Should I use c++ or Python? Are there any tutorials or information that may be helpful? ect…

Hopefully I’ve explained this well enough for you to help me out.

Cheers from Iceland,
Elvar ‘ellioman’

Hello!

Im not sure how much I can help out with your project but I’ll see what I can do. For what language you should use I recommend Python. I thought that C++ was a bit to complicated and found that Python was easy to use easy to learn. Also the manual says:

I am not sure how you would create the rain but but for how the rain works I think I can give some advice for things that would be needed.

-I would recommend looking through Panda’s physics engine documentation:Physics — Panda3D Manual