Questions.

Hey there, i’m new to Panda3D but a little familiar with python. I have some questions i hope you guys can answer for me :slight_smile:.

1. Alright, lets kick off; I’ve heard about and seen this “Scene editor” heck, i’ve even watched the video about it, but it doesn’t tell me how to open it! How the hell do i open this scene editor? What is it used for? Creating your game’s world?

2. .egg files, what? Where can i get my hands on a nice, easy, free modeller to create such a file? I have blender3D and am really familiar with it, been using it for around 5 years now but i don’t really feel it’s good for modelling nice models, and suggestions? How would i then go on to creating that .egg file? Just change the file extension to .egg?

3. I’m still wondering how the hell a game can be made with lines of code! How does it all work? Can anyone explain it in a nutshell?

4. Once i write my game, how do i create the .exe for distribution? How can i “lock” or compress my python files so no one can just randomly access them and edit away?

5. How long is the average milestone for grasping python and being able to code a simple 3D game?

6. Now for the killer, “i am creating a WOW killer MMORPG! How do i do it??” Just kidding :smiley: :stuck_out_tongue:. My real question is this; I’ve heard panda3D is actually designed for an MMO type project, i also heard that it has the client-server system already to go, can someone elaborate this please?

Thanks, that is all for the moment :wink: I’ll surly have more questions soon.
Brave. :wink:

1: Scene editor is not really mentained as far as i know. it can be used to puzzle together your world, placing objects,lights etc etc. you can do the same with code or write your own little editor which stores those information in a textfile or whatever else you want.