pydatagram overhead

Hello everyone, I’ve been tinkering with Panda3d for a few months. I’m one of the dreamy eyed MMOG independants.

My question is how much data (in bits) overhead comes with a pydatagram? If I transmit a datagram of only a single boolean value is it equivalent to a transmission of a single bit? Or is there some other overhead I’m not aware of?

I ask because bandwidth is’spensive. To get the biggest bang for your buck out of an MMO (especially the types independants like to dream of) you need every bit of transmission, client and server side accounted for.

As a side note I’d like to point out that while it’s important to think about bandwidth, it’s less of a problem than you would think.

Dunno if a boolean value would be sent as a 0/1 or if it has an overhead though.

Thanks,

My primary issue right now is transmiting ‘items to be displayed’ for avatars. Each avatar consisting of a number of crafted objects (armor, shirt, boots…). It would be nice to allow for as many different items as possible. As each item is a combination of display relevent attributes or features, this can add up quick. Especially being limited to byte intergers.

I need to send data as binary, and then interpret on the client. If addBool just sticks a single bit into the datagram then it will suffice.

I am also looking at Bitstring on the possibility bitstrings can be transmitted through pydatagrams.

Its probably nit-picking but it would still be nice to know how much extra bits a datagram carries regardless of data added to it.

I would guess that since you must specify the data type when retrieving it on the other end using an iterator, that there is no extra data sent in regard to adding more data onto an existing datagram.
You can use an int as a bit field, for example an 8-bit int would give you the equivalent of 8 bools.