py2exe not agreeing w/ libpandaexpress

i’ve had good luck bundling panda games with py2exe under panda v1.3.2.

this is my first time trying to get the same to work with 1.4.2 and i’m having some difficulty. i run the game with no problems from the command line, but when i compile to .exe i have two different problems:

on the development system i get a crash complaining about FFMpegTexture’s capabilites. my game plays a movie with synchronized audio, so i’m using a MovieTexture for the playback. but the .exe version loads the texture into an FFMpegTexture and i get the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Game.py", line 246, in ?
  File "Game.py", line 26, in __init__
  File "Game.py", line 139, in setupIntro
AttributeError: 'libpanda.FFMpegTexture' object has no attribute 'synchronizeTo'

what would cause the .exe to create an FFMpegTexture instead of a MovieTexture?

the second snag is on a clean proposed target system, where the problem is more immediate, but slightly harder to understand.

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Game.py", line 1, in ?
  File "pandac\PandaModules.pyo", line 1, in ?
  File "pandac\libpandaexpressModules.pyo", line 1, in ?
  File "pandac\extension_native_helpers.pyo", line 20, in ?
ImportError: DLL load failed: The application failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect.  Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

the line where the failure occurs is

from libpandaexpress import *

libpandaexpress.dll is included in the package, but i don’t know about what sort of python bits are necessary to support it.

1. Try putting:
use-movietexture 1

in the Config.prc file you distribute with your application.

1. Is it possible you are getting a conflict with a different version of ilbpandaexpress.dll in some other folder?

David