Putting the menu onscreen in front of the image [SOLVED]

Hi.

feeling like a total noob here, but ive got this card generated with a movietexture on it (this works fine). ive also got a menu (2 buttons parented to a top node).

the card is parented to pixel2d and the menu to aspect2d.

somehow i cant get the menu to be displayed in front of the card. the button just disappears…

could it be that pixel2d is ALWAYS rendered on top of aspect2d, or is there something else wrong here?

so far, i can only see the menu when i call card.hide()

any suggestions anyone?

furthermore, the button doesn’t do anything:

ive got a button like this:

class menu(ShowBase:
    def __init__(self):
        self.button = DirectButton(text = ("OK", "click!", "rolling over", "disabled"), scale=0.05, command=self.end())
    def end(self):
        sys.exit

but clicking the button doesnt exit the program…

do i need a “buttonlistener”? (like in java…)

I’m not sure of the answer to your render-order issue. You might try assigning the objects to the “fixed” bin and giving them appropriate indices, or perhaps creating a new bin for the GUI elements, or you might try assigning a depth offset to one or more of the items; there may be better ways, however, and I’m not sure that the above will work.

On the issue of the button not working, however, I believe that the problem there is simply that you’re passing in the result of the “end” function, not the function itself.

To be specific, try “command=self.end” (note the lack of brackets).

Finally, you seem to have omitted the brackets in the “sys.exit()” call.

hey, the same guy :wink:
thank you for helping me on this one too.
i fixed the button (stupid brackets) without brackets the sys.exit works fine in

self.accept("escape", sys.exit)

so it is confusing.