Protection of games produced using panda3d

Hello.
I am just starting to learn using python as well as panda3d. So please help me clear a doubt arising in my mind.
My question is how do you protect your panda3d game from piracy once you have written it? As far as I have understood from the tutorials, the game is produced as a python script file (e.g. game.py), which is a simple text file. :cry:
So, I think that the code of a panda3d game can be easily disclosed. Is it really so? How do you solve this problem? How about programs like py2exe?

Welcome! You can produce byte-code from Python-file (those .pyc files), and deployment tools of Panda do this automatically. Py2exe is already used inside deployment tools of Panda. So the problem you pointed out doesn’t exist.

Thank you!
And sorry for not checking the tutorial completely.

You can also use apps like Py2exe that you mentioned, although setting them up is not very simple or easy. For various inbuilt methods of ‘hiding’ your code and distribution, see http://www.panda3d.org/manual/index.php/Distributing_Panda3D_Applications.

One of the downsides of Python is that someone with the right skill and enthusiasm can just about always find out how your stuff works, but ultimately the same can be said for compiled apps as well. This shouldn’t really be a problem unless you were planning to write a 3D banking transaction tool or something of the sort :wink:

Ive been able to successfully decompile a pyc file to a human readable py code.
I think you can encrypt the panda3d multifiles though

Packing your game into .p3d will hide your source code. Using pdeploy will convert your Panda game into .exe, similar to py2exe.