Problem incrementing counter when car enters an area

Hi im a beginner to using panda,
What im trying to do is to get a text label to update when my car drives into a certain area.
Heres a snippet of my code:

def checkpoint(self):
        self.cp = self.loader.loadModel("models/box")
        self.cp.reparentTo(render)
        self.cp.setPos((random.randint(-80, 80)), (random.randint(-80, 80)), -1)  # The map of the game is roughly 80x80
        cpLabel = DirectLabel(pos=(-0.9, 0, -0.8))
        cpLabel.reparentTo(aspect2d)
        cpLabel.setScale(0.1)
        counter = 0
        cpLabel['text'] = "Checkpoint: 0/5"

def cpTask(self, task, counter, cpLabel):
            if counter < 5:
                if (self.cp.getY() + 10) > self.PlayerNP.getY() > (self.cp.getY() - 10) and \
                        (self.cp.getX() + 10) > self.PlayerNP.getX() > (self.cp.getX() - 10):
                    counter = counter + 1
                    cpLabel['text'] = "Checkpoint: " + str(counter) + "/5"
                    return counter, cpLabel
                return Task.cont
            else:
                return Task.done

taskMgr.add(cpTask, 'cpTask', extraArgs=[self,counter, cpLabel], appendTask=True)

If you could help me get it working that would be much appreciated.

Hmm… I think that I may see two potential problems:

First, it looks like you’re placing your check-points on the X-Y plane, but you’re testing positions on the X-Z plane.

Thus, if the car is moving on the X-Y plane, and has a Z-value that’s either greater than 9 or less than -11, then it may never fulfill the condition for incrementing the counter.

And second, I note that you’re setting the value of “counter” and the text of “cpLabel” at the start of “cpTask”. This means that every time that the task updates and the method is run, those values will be reset, and the counter will never exceed 1.