Please sell me on Panda3D

Hey all,
Can you help sell me on Panda3D or point me in the direction you think I should go?
I a programmer by trade (SQL / Cold Fusion / JavaScript) who is interested in making some games.
The games I want to make are Tower Defense (like Desktop Tower Defense) and Turn Based Strategy (Master of Magic) type games.
I have little C++ knowledge and would prefer to keep my efforts in the Script / SQL realm (I don’t want to have to compile anything if I can help it).
All my current game ideas involve Hexagon shaped areas (If not Hex Tiles then all game pieces snapping to a Hex grid overlay). The problem I am running into is that any game engine I have played around with does not have scripting functions that play well with Hex Grids.
Do you think Panda3D would work for me? Would A7 and lite-C work better? Am I going to have to brush up on my C++?

Thanks for your time,
Sammual

welcome to the panda3d community!

you’r lucky -> you dont have to use c++.
and before i continue i wanted to say… i doubt that Gamestudio will do a better job in your case.
with panda, you usualy write your game in python. it’s an easy language, yet VERY powerfull. you could even write your own 3D-email-reader application with it. since you know c++ already you should be able to use python within a few hours.
i think i’ve already seen a few hexagon-tile-based things on the forum.
in any case i see no reason why panda would not be able to handle it.
TowerDefense sounds like a reasonable easy concept to get started with panda,too.

if you have specific questions, feel free to ask.
to get started with panda, make sure to read the “absolute beginner thread” which is a sticky. aswell as the manual (on the top of the page), and the examples which come with the panda installation.
some basic python beginner tutorials are also recommended before starting with panda.

[edit]
as i thought. treeform once experimented with tiles.