Pipeline - a few beginner question, please help!

Hello all Pandas, I am just a beginner with 3D graphics, so please bare with me and my stupid questions. I have looked through the forums, and couldn’t find a clear reply to my question. Well, that’s what happen when you are as newbie as me. I have started learning to make 3D models a few weeks ago, mostly Blender and Bryce. I am following the manual, doing all the tutorials, and so on. I am learning Blender because I would like to help a friend create models for a 3D game, using the Panda3D engine. I have some questions concerning the “logic” of creating models for games.

1. Which are the key secrets to create models that look good with low polygon count? From what I read, the secret is mostly in using wisely UV maps and other texturing techniques, am I right?
  2. How do you know which is the right size for a model to be used at a later time as a building block of a bigger scene? Like in any other engine, in Panda 3D you have to import models into a sort of basic scene editor - so trees, houses, weapons, critters, everything is a building block. For example, let’s say I have to create a table, a house, a landscape - how do I make sure relative sizes are ok? I couldn’t find a tutorial or a clear page of the documentation about size of models.
  3. How do you choose which is the best texture size to apply on each model? Do you which is the average texture size in games nowadays?

Well, that’s all I can think of right now… any help in understanding something of all this, would be precious!

1): you are right. a wisely unwrapped model is a must. a good uv-map (just defines which 3d-points are pinned where on a 2d texture) is neccesary to apply a texture without bad-looking streched parts.
the texture itself is the most important part of a model. i like to quote some phrase i read somewhere … cant remember where… “the texture can make, or brake your model”