Physics options - Voxel game

Hello,

I’m wondering, what could be the most efficient method for applying physics (or some type of pseudo-physics) to a block based voxel game, such as a minecraft style game?

I’m still learning how to use Panda3D and experimenting with its features, but the first thing I’d like to look at when approaching the concept of this game is the physics. Which physics library do you think would be the most efficient for this type of game?

I have prior experience with Bullet, though I have also had a look at the section in the manual on Panda’s built in physics as well as ODE.

I’m not sure whether I would have better luck with just writing my own ‘fake’ physics based on simple collisions and rays, or using one of the supplied engines.

I tested out a small scene with some generated blocks and the player with Bullet. The blocks had rigid body boxes with a mass of 0 parented to them, and the player was a capsule object. This dropped the fps down to 10, which is really not what I’m looking for, especially in a scene with just 8x8x4 blocks.

Perhaps some pseudo-physics code using rays could do the trick for collision.

Any suggestions would be great.

In short, I’d say you have two main options.

1. Build your own physics/collision detection. Since you already have voxel data, you could most likely tap into that pretty easily. Find the height of the ground at the brick below the player, then slowly move the player down with accumulative force, for gravity. Once the player hits the ground you could stop applying the gravity force, and check to see if the player is jumping, then apply a small force upwards for a set period of time. That handles gravity and jumping.