panda3d, pydev and windows xp

Hello everyone,

i seem to have something wrong in my configuration of eclipse/pydev cncerning panda3d. Allthough i can run the small sample prog from the introduction, my IDE still tells me some wierd stuuf. Like that for instance in the line import direct.directbase.DirectStart dirctbase.DirectSTrta is an unresolved import or that loader and base are undefined variables.

So i get an awfull lot of errors and warnings, but untill now evrything still ran alright. BUt since i am a beginner with python and panda3d i would very much like to really see when i am doing something wrong and not some bogus error warnings.

Any idea what i might have missed?

greets Topdoozer

for example:

import direct.directbase.DirectStart

from direct.task import Task
from direct.actor import Actor
import math

environ = loader.loadModel(“models/environment”)
environ.reparentTo(render)
environ.setScale(0.25,0.25,0.25)
environ.setPos(-8,42,0)

def SpinCameraTask(task):
angledegrees = task.time * 6.0
angleradians = angledegrees * (math.pi / 180.0)
base.camera.setPos(20math.sin(angleradians),-20.0math.cos(angleradians),3)
base.camera.setHpr(angledegrees, 0, 0)
return Task.cont

taskMgr.add(SpinCameraTask, “SpinCameraTask”)

run()

this runs allright but i have lots and warnings and errors from the ide telling me that this little script shouldnt run!

Well, take “loader” and “base.” These are global variables created using python’s “builtins” mechanism. This is an unusual thing to do, and I think it’s not surprising that your IDE doesn’t understand that these are globals.

As for direct.directbase.DirectStart. I imagine it’s looking for a file direct/directbase/DirectStart.py. But in fact, the file is direct/src/directbase/DirectStart.py. It’s probably looking in the wrong place, and concluding erroneously that the file’s not there.