Panda3D/C++ Noob

Hello there.
I’m new to both C++ and Panda3D and I’m trying to make a small game, and I’ve run into a couple problems.

Problem 1: If I change the “My Panda3D Window” string, the game crashes. If I leave it on My Panda3D Window, it turns into a bunch of seemingly random characters.

Problem 2: I’m not sure how to use TexturePool to draw a main menu background image. :frowning:

int main(int argc, char *argv[]) {
    //open a new window framework
  framework.open_framework(argc, argv);
    //set the window title to My Panda3D Window
  framework.set_window_title("Test");
    //open the window
  WindowFramework *window = framework.open_window();

PT(Texture) tex;
	tex = TexturePool::load_texture("Menu-0.png");

CardMaker cm("cardMaker");
	PT(PandaNode) readyCard = cm.generate();
	NodePath path(readyCard);
	path.set_texture( tex ); 

// Run the engine.
    framework.main_loop();
    // Shut down the engine when done.
    framework.close_framework();
    return (0);
}

I’m new to Panda3D, too, so I cannot help you with your problems. But in my experience, it’s crucial to learn the language for at least a half year up to two years (depending on if you have already gain experience in programming) before trying to make a game.
I don’t want to criticize you, I only want to warn you that you might run into a whole bunch of problems and give up programming at all - That would be a pity.

This problem has been reported by some (but not all) Windows 7 users. We haven’t figured it out yet.

Your example code lacks placing the card into the scene graph for rendering:

path.reparent_to(window->get_render_2d());

David

What did you say? :open_mouth:
I used to have exactly the same problem under Windows 7. I managed to solve it, but unfortunatley, I don’t remember how :frowning:
I will tell you, as soon as I recall.

/EDIT @Sam:
By the way, which IDE do you use?

I’m using Visual C++ 2010 Express Edition under XP Professional Edition.