Pack of problems

Hi Guys,
i am new in this forum and program already since 6 months with panda3d.
English is not my first language, please sorry for that.
I am a blind programmer and use python for my project.
Here, i have 3 problems, i hope you can and want to help me…

I write momentanly a 3d platformer as Audiogame and i have here 3 problems:

1. The floor will be different materials, this are different sounds, but i don’t know, how i can do that with a inclined platform… for normal platforms, it is done…
    I use a 3d array, generated by a list-comprehention.
    And i have write functions, to fill in a value in a specify area between to points.
    For example:
    Point 1: 0, 0, 0
    point 2: 5, 5, 0
    then it will generate a sqared platform.
    Have you a solution for a inclined platform? I can calculate the cordinatepoints, but fill in in a 3d array is the problem…
    I can’t use numpy, because i need strings… that is my problem…

2. How i can set this platformes as a floor? i have not fully anderstunded this collision type…

3. How I can safe the maps in a good way? for the moment i use json whit a class safe function…
    Exsist a better way?

Ok, i hope you can help me…

Greetings
Christopher

Hi, welcome to the forums!

1. I’m having some difficulty understanding what you mean. Could you explain more about your structure? Do you use some sort of 3D grid and place platforms between grid points, or do you build your world from square blocks?

2. The common way to do collision detection against a floor is by using a CollisionRay pointing down from the player, and having a collision handler such a CollisionHandlerFloor or CollisionHandlerGravity to respond to this. Another approach is to use a CollisionHandlerQueue to check for the Z value of the first point of the ground collision and place the character there. This is demonstrated in the Roaming Ralph sample program.