Old Python Documentation

Hello,

It would be so awesome if I could use the old documentation! If someone could put that back online it would be great.

I am not the most versed programmer, but I cannot find any of the simple functions of classes in the new documentation, like getPos(), setScale(), etc.

Thanks,
Gary

We go here:
panda3d.org/reference/python/annotated.php

Type into the little box at the top right that says “search” something like “getPos”, and wait for it to fetch results.

Click on first “getPos” result to expand it.
Click on “panda3d::core::NodePath.getPos()” - assuming that’s what you want.

We arrive here:
panda3d.org/reference/python … 1873752cbb

Of course, I am a newb, so maybe I misunderstood you.

The old API reference is still at:
panda3d.org/apiref.php?page=classes
It will soon be a redirect for the new doxygen reference, though.

Perhaps a bigger question is in what way are you failing to find these method definitions on the new documentation? They seem perfectly obvious to me on the various class pages. What pages are you coming to where you expect to see them and they are not there?

David

It seems to me that OP’s problem is that the original list of methods lists getPos:

panda3d.org/apiref.php?page=methods

But the new one doesn’t:

panda3d.org/reference/python … hp#index_g

Instead it lists “pos” as a variable:

panda3d.org/reference/python … hp#index_p

Also cross-referencing doesn’t seem to work very well, this is what we get now for the pos:

For getPos we used to get:

What do you mean? I see getPos() listed in the index_g list you link to:

getPos() : AnimChannel< ACScalarSwitchType > , DriveInterface , Trackball , TrackerNode , OnscreenText , NodePath , PolylightNode , OdeContactGeom , AnimChannel< ACMatrixSwitchType > , TransformState , NodePath

And see, it does have a sensible cross-reference. The “pos” variable is a different list, and references Python objects that actually do have a “pos” variable.

David