Not working out of box | Syntax Error

C:\Panda3D-1.0.3\samples\Basic-Tutorials–Lesson-1-Scene-Graph>C:\Python23\LIB\o
s.py:282: Warning: ‘yield’ will become a reserved keyword in the future
‘import site’ failed; use -v for traceback
C:\Python23\LIB\os.py:282: Warning: ‘yield’ will become a reserved keyword in th
e future
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “Tut-Step-5-Complete-Solar-System.py”, line 12, in ?
import direct.directbase.DirectStart
File “C:\Panda3D-1.0.3\direct_init_.py”, line 2, in ?
import os,sys
File “C:\Python23\LIB\os.py”, line 282
yield top, dirs, nondirs
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

does not work “out of box”

i’m sure this is just a configuration problem, but i have no experience w/ python. this project has inspired me to learn it… that is… once i get it running.

It looks like you have an install of Python 2.3 on your machine? Panda3d’s binary distribution comes with a version of python, and there is an executable called ‘ppython.exe’ which should be in the bin directory under the directory you installed Panda. This executable will setup all the environment variables needed for Panda3d’s python and call the executable.

Perhaps you tried to run the .py directly? In the samples dir, there are shortcuts to run the examples, and there are the .py files themselves. If you have an install of Python on your box, it’s likely associated with the .py extension, so it will run that if you double-click the .py file.

Try using the shortcut rather than the .py file, or call up a command prompt and go to the directory with the .py file, and try:

c:\panda3d-1.0.3\bin\ppython xxxx.py

Where xxxx is the name of the panda .py file you want to run. Or you could put panda3d’s bin directory in your path before the system’s python directory.

-stampson

first of all - insanely mad props for the speedy response. you’ve inspired me to register :wink: