[Newbie] How to get started on this...

Hello,

I am new to panda and I have some questions on how to get started on my project. I want to create a demo game for a school project where I need to place a surfer model on some Waves. Now, I am totally lost on how to create these waves… Hope someone can give me some guidence.

I am trying out panda because it can run on multiple os’es and it is a game engine and not a tool like quest3d which is an application that my teacher prefers.

Or would anyone suggest to get started on a tool like quest?

Thank you…

Creating waves isnt the easiest thing one can do, but it is possible. I think the best way to do it is via shaders, or otherwise with realtime vertex deformation. It depends on what kind of waves you want. Just rippling water (very easy) or enormous waves (harder) ?

By the way. this is the wrong forum. Next time, please post in GD or so.

Thanks for the quick reply,

Sorry that I post it in the wrong forum? Can’t someone move it, to GD?

Yeas of course I want it to be huge waves. But this is the first time I would attempt to create something like that and I have no Idea where to get started. Can you give me some more detailed tips on where to get started?

Thank you!!!

Has been moved.

I do think as well, that it would be hard to create huge real time changing waves.

Sure, you can scale static models, but I doubt that you will get anywhere near to realism like wave behavior…

Maybe if the waves consists of several parts combined by joints - and then life-scaling them. - But then there is still the problem with the forces for the surfer. :wink:

Regards, Bigfoot29

VTerrain is always a good place to start:
vterrain.org/Water/