Newbie here, need help with optimization

I’m working on a grid-based RPG with simple graphics (just meshes and textures with two global lights, no shadows, no bumpmapping etc.). I supposed graphics like that would run very smoothly, but I’m getting 25 - 60 FPS, depending on how many nodes are visible in the scene. Here are my screenshots from profiling:

slow:

fast:

So I noticed most of the frame time is spent on Draw and most time of Draw is spent on Set State. I am not sure what that means exactly. Does it mean that rendering state is changed too often? How can I optimise this? I tried using bins to render the object in different orders (front to back, back to front, state sort, …), nothing seemed to have any impact on FPS.

Each tile and wall segment is a separate node that is transformed into right place with setPos(). My view distance isn’t infinite, I have it set so that I can see about 8 tiles in front of the camera.

I’m running this on Ubuntu laptop with Intel integrated GPU and GeForce GT 540M, both give more or less the same framerate (I’m running GeForce with “optirun python main.py” - am I doing it right?).

I’ll be glad for any help! Thanks.

I’m counting a lot of state changes, which indicates that Panda is spending a lot of time telling OpenGL that the parameters of the object that is being rendered have changed. The fact that “Set state” is taking a lot of time would seem to confirm this.

You should consider calling flattenLight() on your scene (or the static parts thereof). This will “bake” the transformation onto the vertices of the objects. This should at least cut down the number of transform state changes at least.