newb question - python tags

Total newb question- just tryign to understand the difference between the various things called “tags”.

In the past, I’ve done things like this in the past to conveniently track attributes of game objects:

character.isOK = True
character.SPD = 6
character.name = "Bob"

While adding clickable objects functionality, I created a tag called “clickable” like so:

character.clickable = "1"

and found that it didn’t work:

I had to do it like this:

character.setTag("clickable", "1")

Likewise, I wanted to print the name of what I’d clicked , so I did this at the end of my mouse pick function:

if chQueue.getNumEntries() > 0:
		chQueue.sortEntries()
		pickedObj = chQueue.getEntry(0).getIntoNodePath()
		pickedObj = pickedObj.findNetTag("clickable")
		if not pickedObj.isEmpty():
			print "you clicked on ", pickedObj.name

but i got:
AttributeError: ‘libpanda.NodePath’ object has no attribute ‘name’

change the last line to:

print "you clicked on ", pickedObj.getPythonTag("name")

and it works.

So there’s obviously a difference between setting them the shorthand way, and with setTag, and using getPythonTag, etc.
I guess they’re different internally, I just wanted to understand it better.

Solution:

class(def) character: #object
       isOK = None #variable
       clickable = 0 #variable
       anothervariable = True #variable

You probably converted from Game Maker, right? I am just curious. :smiley:

by the way, the thing you want to create is called [b]object/b, but you have created variable(isOK or clickable). You can not assign variables to variables, you have to assign [b]variables/b to [b]objects/b, right? Python is an object-oriented language, so don’t forget that :slight_smile:

I’m not sure what Deny0 is talking about, but to answer your question, there’s a difference between the python syntax:

thing.name = "foo"

which stores a name attribute on the Python object “thing”, whatever it is, and the syntax: