New user, new install, and python exceptions

About me:
I’ve got lots of C development, a good amount of Python, and command line wizardry.

My machine: Dell c610 (Pentium M, 512mb) running Mepis. Installed the Dapper .deb file directly with dpkg, installation went without a hitch.

HOWEVER, I’m going through the “Start Guide For The Absolute Beginner” portion of the manual ('cause I’m a 3d absolute beginner). I’m doing this:

joe@0[3d]$ cat test3d.py
import direct.directbase.DirectStart

run()

joe@0[3d]$ python test3d.py
DirectStart: Starting the game.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “test3d.py”, line 1, in ?
File “linuxroot/usr/share/panda3d/direct/src/directbase/DirectStart.py”, line 3, in ?
File “linuxroot/usr/share/panda3d/direct/src/showbase/ShowBase.py”, line 10, in ?
File “/usr/share/panda3d/pandac/PandaModules.py”, line 1, in ?
from libpandaexpressModules import *
File “/usr/share/panda3d/pandac/libpandaexpressModules.py”, line 1, in ?
from extension_native_helpers import *
File “/usr/share/panda3d/pandac/extension_native_helpers.py”, line 20, in ?
from libpandaexpress import *
ImportError: libp3dtoolconfig.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

joe@0[3d]$ locate libp3dtoolconfig.so
/usr/lib/panda3d/libp3dtoolconfig.so

joe@0[3d] stat `locate libp3dtoolconfig.so` File: `/usr/lib/panda3d/libp3dtoolconfig.so' Size: 431890 Blocks: 856 IO Block: 4096 regular file Device: 301h/769d Inode: 392349 Links: 1 Access: (0755/-rwxr-xr-x) Uid: ( 1000/ joe) Gid: ( 1000/ UNKNOWN) Access: 2007-10-24 22:00:42.000000000 -0400 Modify: 2007-10-02 21:35:03.000000000 -0400 Change: 2007-10-24 22:01:10.000000000 -0400 joe@0[3d]

So, I’ve got permissions, it’s there… why the exception?
Do I need to mess around with my PYTHONPATH or something?

Doh!
Could this be… because the direct class is related to directX?

Is there an absolute beginner page for people who banned MS from their houses five years ago?

Did more homework…