New to Everything

Hello, i am new to Panda3D but have tried things out in the Manual. I have been reading you forums for quite a while now but couldn’t seem to find the answer to my problem. I’ve had the same problem as ice_rock… it concern about changing the map of Roaming Ralph, somehow i have managed to change the map But ralph couldn’t walk on the said terrain. There must be something that im missing. Im using blender btw.

Hope to Find an Answer.
Thanks

The Roaming Ralph code specifically checks for collision with a node called “terrain”. You have to be sure to name your new collision terrain correctly.

David

You could edit Roaming Ralph, take out the DirectStart import, run() call and World() instantiation, import it by your other file, and instantiate its World() class there.

Unless you mean to open another Panda session with Roaming Ralph running in it, while closing the current (like ice_rock wanted to do)? If that’s the case, use the subprocess module to open a new Python process (with the path to the Roaming Ralph script as argument) and then call sys.exit() to terminate the current application.

Also, don’t forget that the map that the Roaming Ralph tutorial loads is used both as the rendered mesh and the collision mesh. This is done by setting the tag of Collide with “polyset keep descend”. You can set this up on your own level by going under Blender, the Logic Properties button tab (F4 I believe) and adding a string property called Collide with that text.

Note that this is not the most optimal way to set up large scale levels.

Now i didn’t get what mr. Pro-rsoft just said, I got confused.

But FenrirWolf, I somehow managed to do exactly what he said, adding a string property and named it Collide. But i get an error message that says about “**//start_point”, i tried removing the line that looks for the start point of ralph,. It did work, but Ralph couldn’t run… He rans on his place, but not exploring.

Sorry for the bAd English.