New Face with ramblings and questions

Hi there!

I started learning PHP (specifically for Wordpress plug-in development) this year and right now I am a LOT more motivated about what it entails to learn a programming language. I won’t say all was easy but it was worth it!!

So now I am glad to finally arrive here and actually channeling my energies into something I have hoped to start a long time ago.

I almost started off with C++ (got the books as well!) but after a bit more consideration I dropped that idea. I am definitely not a young pup anymore so I feel that C++ for someone my age is overkill (although some beg to differ). So I can honestly say I am really excited about getting to grips with python!:smiley:

But I do have a question.

In your introduction there is mention of the fact that: “To successfully use Panda3D, you must be a skilled programmer… This is no point-and-click game-maker: this is a tool for professionals.”

As a independent “one-man show” (if you will) would panda3D be considered better for team efforts where production has been split into major compartments or does it curtail to individuals as well who wants to single-handedly build there dream project? I assume both but it could be that the process for a single person with panda3d may be a lot more tedious and cumbersome than using something like Blender’s Game Engine.

If I wasn’t clear: Should a single individual developer rather use something like Blender’s Game Engine or is Panda3d just as terrific?

I am not planning any large scale games if anyone was wondering. I have some ideas and stories but I want to do this purely as a hobby, a change from what I currently do and making something fun (hopefully spectacular) in the process. :smiley:

A final question: Are there any frameworks available to build up from for certain projects like platform, RPG, FPS?

Thank you for your time!

Hi there and welcome