New around here, seeking info...

Hello to all of you that read this! I am wanting to make a game, but have no idea where to start. I have been searching for reasonable, free 3d engines, and came across this one. I have a general idea of the game I would like to make, but I don’t have any experience in programming. I do know how to do some intermediate modeling and texturing.

If there is someone willing to team up with me as a programmer, I would apreciate that as well.

hi. welcome to panda3d.

good advice (and i mean good as in really good, brilliant etc).
go thorugh the “trouble” of learning python (might take you 2 weeks or so).
once you know the python basics, have a look at the manual, the samples and the api-reference.
without programming you wont get anywhere. and programmers who join your team tend to lose intrest in projects which are not their owns.
programmers are hard to find anyway since most are doing their own projects already.
so, get the hang of python and start get started :slight_smile:

ok. thank you for the advice :slight_smile: ill start researching it.

ThomasEgi perty much hit it on the head. One place to look for help is this website. It doesn’t really teach you python, but is a great place to look for help on the code snips and what they do. It also has some examples on how to use the code…

docs.python.org/

Also heres a good fourm for python questions, but you can always ask them here too if you need. (I always end up calling python -> panda and panda -> python… so go figure, lol.)

forums.devshed.com/python-programming-11/

Also, like always, make sure you have the time to learn the code. :slight_smile: Don’t just rush in into what you want to do. Take it slow and learn the code and you’ll win the race. :stuck_out_tongue:

for just python learning http://www.ibiblio.org/swaroopch/byteofpython/read/ is good

ok. thank you.