moving actor in direction of hpr

Hello fellow Panda3d programmers!

I am no math scientist and i am trying to move my actor model in my game. The problem is i want to move the actor the same direction as my actor is heading. I cant see any easy way of doing this. Is there a metho that could help me or is there any relativly simple script i can use in my code???

Any help would be just great!

Try:

actor.setPos(actor, 0, 5, 0)

This moves your actor five feet along the y axis relative to his current position, which is to say, five feet forward, whichever way he is facing.

David

1 Like

Thank you david!

It was exactly what i needed!!

I’d like to dig up this old thread to ask a related question:

How would I be able to move the camera in the direction of its orientation?, or for that matter to its right or to its left. I have been trying a million different ways and none seem to be valid. My latest attempt is parenting base.camera to a new ActorNode which I use to apply a velocity in the (hopeful) direction that the camera is facing. Here is my function that is called when a mouseWatcherRegion event is thrown:

def moveCam(self, foo, blah):
    #this is what base.camera is parented to:
    cam_PO = self.cameraActorNode.getPhysicsObject()

name = foo.getName()
    heading = base.camera.getH()
    pitch = base.camera.getP()

headingradians = heading * (math.pi / 180.0)
    pitchradians = pitch * (math.pi / 180.0)

x = 18*math.sin(headingradians)
    y = 18*math.cos(headingradians)
    z = 18*math.sin(pitchradians)

print self.cameraNodePath.getPos()
    print " "

if name == "topEdge":
      cam_PO.setVelocity(x,y,z)
    elif name == "bottomEdge":
      cam_PO.setVelocity(-x,-y,-z)
    elif name == "leftEdge":
    else:

This unfortunately doesn’t work because it does not move the camera forward (It’s relative Y axis) when I want it to after I’ve rotated it!

Thank you so much in advance!
-RC