More questions.

I have a couple more questions about the engine, i am still :S reading the manual. Anyway:

1. I’m making an online zombie FPS, i get a little confused as to whether or not FPS is possible in Panda3D? I know it’s a silly question but i’m just wondering. All screenshots i’ve saw, none of them are FPS…

2. How many zombies would the engine allow to be on screen at once, before lagging, badly?

3. Is there a physics engine in Panda3D? Meaning rag dolls etc are possible? How good are the physics?

4. Since i will be coding everything into the client, does that automatically mean that all movements of the player, animations, shooting etc will be sync’ed with all other clients?

5. Zombies, would i add them into the server or all clients and have the clients update them? Or how would i / should i handle zombies?

6. I know i have asked this in the past, but it’s worrying, i am a newbie to Python and programming in general, does this mean my aims are not reachable in a short amount of time?

7. Graphics, are these limited by the engine in anyway? Or just models/textures?

PS: www.zdaygame.com

Welcome to Panda3d,

You have some good questions and you can tell that you’re thinking through the problems that you will have so I think you’re already well on your way.

1. Yes a FPS is possible. FPS games have some unique problems but nothing you can’t deal with. One of the issues that you’ll find is that the world in a FPS game will be pretty large with many rooms and such. Well, the problem with that is that the rendering pipeline will render pretty much everything in the direction you are looking ( it renders from far to close) so that even if you a just looking at a wall, it will try to render everything through the wall, no matter how many rooms there are just to cover it all up with a wall at the end of the render. That will obviously make your program lag very baddly. You can get around this but it’s something to keep in mind.