Model

Hello all! So I’ve been using panda3d for about half a year now and I’ve learned a lot. well recently I’ve gotten into modeling so I decided to use it to my advantage. so I got blender and made this gyazo.com/8af59ce0d4f10730590b7385cc5b7bba through this code

self.modelloader("TREE", "Client/etctest/TREE.bam", render, 0.4, 115, 0.3, -90, 0, 0, 3, 3, 3)

I don’t really know if there is a way to get around this without textures, because I love the way it looked with the material and lamp. but is there perhaps a way I can get the lamp lighting and material into my game without having to texture? Is there a good method to code this? I’ve been using panda3d for 6 months, but have not been extremely active, so I don’t really know too much. Any advice is appreciated. I’d love to be able to make models like this and use them in a game with panda3d.

I think you are looking for ‘baking’ the lighting into the texture. Normally its used to bake ambient occlusion, but I think you can bake all the lights you need.

Heres a few links to get started:
cgcookie.com/blender/2010/07/06/ … occlusion/
katsbits.com/tutorials/blend … lusion.php

Rather then selecting ambient occlusion in the bake area full render might work?

Thank you so much! A secondary problem has arisen. I got the model in and everything and I noticed collisions aren’t working. I learned that you could do collisions right into panda :slight_smile: so I checked out a tutorial and found some helpful information, but when I imported this code

base.cTrav=CollisionTraverser()
        collisionHandler = CollisionHandlerQueue()

treeModel = loader.loadModel('Client/etctest/TREE.bam')
        treeModel.reparentTo(render)
        treeModel.setPos(0.4, 115, 0.3)

treeCollider = treeModel.find("**/Cone")
        base.cTrav.addCollider(treeCollider, collisionHandler)

I got Assertion Error: !collider.is_empty()