Memory leak

Hi everyone,

My game is… finished BUT my tester found that after a couple of minute (like 10 minutes) the game starts to slow down and then crash. I discover by looking at the memory usage in windows that the game goes linearly from 200 meg of usage to 1 GB.

So I put in comments a lot of thing and discover that it’s entirely related to my weapon system. Each time the player or the enemies shoot a lazer (or any other weapon), the memory increase of approximatly 1 meg. If I do nothing, memory is stable.

I check if the class were deleted (i put a “print” inside of del) and everything seems fine. I also remove each node… So I don’t understand where all this memory is lost. Or maybe the garbage collector do not work well??? I’m new to Python so maybe I’m missing something. Please help because this project is due really soon and I was to write a report on Panda3D telling that everything was perfect but with this memory problem, I don’t know what I will do!

So here is the code of the weapon itself:

from pandac.PandaModules import Vec3, CollisionSphere, CollisionNode
from direct.interval.IntervalGlobal import *
import sys 
import types 

class WeaponDarkLazer:
    def __init__(self, world, basePos, baseHpr):
        self.world = world
        self.myID = world.getNextID()
        self.pos = basePos
        self.baseHpr = baseHpr
        self.hitDammage = 1
        self.speed = 60
        self.autodestruction = 3
        self.totalElapsed = 0
        self.isDead = 0
        self.loadModels()
        self.loadSound()
        self.playSound()
        self.print_top_100()

def doKill(self, id):
        if (id == self.myID):
            self.isDead = 1 
            return 1
        else:
            return 0

def getPos(self):
        self.returnValue2 = Vec3(self.leftBeam.getX(), self.leftBeam.getY() + (self.speed*self.totalElapsed), self.leftBeam.getZ())
        return self.returnValue2

def getHpr(self):
        return self.root_lazer.getHpr()