memory error while running examples?

Hello,
I’m a newbie with PANDA3D, and I get some weird problem:
After I installed the PANDA I tried to run the examples, but I got error report and be forced quit every time with each! It processed something for a while and then told ‘The instruction at “0x04252b84” referenced memory at “0x00000010”. The memory could not be “read”.’

(I’m in a Chinese system so I didn’t snapshot the content of error. )

And I mentioned the error was happened in python.exe so I tried with the follow ways:

1. I installed the python 3.1.1
  2. I re-installed the directX 9.0c
  3. I try it on a clear virtual system with Virtual Box(I happened set-up a new system win XP this week)
  4. I created a project in VisualStudio2005, following the tutorials “A Panda3D Hello World”, compiled and ran(I have set it in “release” mode).

None of those worked! :frowning: With the 4th way, I got a error with different memory address:
The instruction at “0x03582b84” referenced memory at “0x00000010”. The memory could not be “read”.

I searched the forum and google but found nothing talking about this. So I’m very eager to get any suggestion for I spent 2 days on this.
With my best appreciation. :slight_smile:

Mario

Well, if the samples don’t work, then compiling your own application won’t work either. So let’s get the samples working.

First, Panda comes with its own version of Python, and that happens to be Python 2.5. Installing another version of Python won’t help, and might actually cause problems. Make sure you are running the python.exe that comes with Panda, and not any other python.exe.