Maximum number of polygons?

Is there a practical maxmimum to the number of polygons an EGG file is able to handle?

I’m new to Panda3D (great experience so far) and I exported a 1+ million quad(2+ million triangles) interior set from Maya 6.5 (not heavy at all) into a 350 meg EGG file. However, when I tried to convert this EGG file into a BAM file the process died - both under Windows XP and Windows XP64 - and I have 3GB of memory. I fully understand 32-bit OSes have a 1.6 GB process memory limit, but egg2bam.exe died after eating 2GB of RAM under Windows XP64.

What about practical texture limits? If I baked global illumination into textures would Panda3D not care about the total number of textures used and rely on OpenGL/DirectX drivers to upload textures to the video card memory?

I’m kinda stress testing Panda3D at the moment… so yes these are all kinda of degenerate cases, but at the same time 1 million polygons in scene is not uncommon. Ideally I should split the set up into PVS (potentially visible sets)…

There aren’t any fixed limits on triangle counts or texture sizes.

However, there can be a practical limit on the number of triangles within a given node. I would call 2 million tris in one node to be on the heavy side. I suspect Panda is dying trying to generate triangle strips for all of those triangles. If you divide your scene up into multiple nodes, it will be much easier for Panda to strip them up, since it limits the search space for the ideal strip length.

Even if your Maya scene is defined using separate nodes, if you are converting as a character (with -a model, for instance), then you are asking Panda to drop everything into one node. This is certainly a mistake; environments should be converted as static models, with -a none (or without specifying -a).