Is this possible?

First I must say this is a beatiful site, and panda3d looks great, but I’m not sure if it can fulfill my needs.

Let me describe the program I’m trying to build:

Anybody who has played simcity 4 is familiar with the terrain tools. Basically, there is a blank flat landscape, and you have the ability to ‘terraform’ it in-game, modifying the landscape with things like mountains. However, you can only terraform individual cities one at a time. Very boring…

The game supports the rendering of indexed colour or greyscale images into terrain, so this means that it may possible to build a terrain with similar tools in a spiffy panda3d opengl environment, convert the terrain to a greyscale image, and then import that into the game. It would use things like a fractal generator to create things like mountains or lakes. And you could select textures to ‘preview’ a region before a time consuming in-game render.

I’m an expert in python, but have very little experience with 3d graphics. How difficult would it be to:

1. Import a greyscale landscape into a panda3d opengl environment
  2. Modify the landscape in real time (and create the terrain tools to do this)
  3. Export that as some kind of greyscale image, where darker pixels correspond to lower heights.

I’m looking to build something like this, excect much more capable:
tenermerx.com/sc3maped/

Any help would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

PS - if this is not possible, are there other libraries with python bindings that might be? I have looked into soya3d, but it feels a bit limiting.

Panda 1.1 (coming out shortly) should have support for offset bumpmaps, which sounds like the technique you’re trying to use. As for loading grayscale images, the easiest way is to load them into a Texture, and then use the PNMImage class to look at individual pixels. For Example:

grayTexture=loader.loadTexture("myGrayImage.jpg")
grayImage=PNMImage()

grayTexture.store(grayImage)