Is panda still being developed?

Hello everyone,

I am new to panda3D and am working on a small school project using it. I really like how it works and am learning more and more every day. But I have some doubts. Since September last year there has been no activity on the homepage. There has been a projects portal in the making for longer than I can remember. There is activity on the forum but I didn’t see any really new cool stuff happening lately. What I also think is there is a need for good screencasts. This will lower the level for people new to panda. If you are really new to game programming and python the learning curve for panda is by far not as good as promoted.

I am asking this because I haven’t seen any innovations lately… Not even talking about the website that I think is prehistoric…

Can I expect something new or is panda dying?

Hope there will be some innovations

Well, I hope I can help vanishing your doubts…

Panda3D is being developed steadily - there is a daily “nightly build” that keeps you up to date. A new milestone will propably then happen, once the autmatic shader creation thing Josh is working at is ready for general usage.

Till now there was no need to bring constant updates on the homepage since there weren’t too many “news”.

Panda3DProjects is - or better was - under development. We still don’t like to call it “final”, but it could be used by anyone who needs it (and has some reasons for… note: filesharing is NOT a good reason g)

The question “Is Panda3D dead?” comes nearly every half a year. - Do a search, you will find every time the same answer. :wink:

The forum isn’t dead too. New snipplets are being reported once in a while and general questions are asked all the time. If you are in the need to ask something, try it. You will most propably get an answer within a few hours. :wink:

Regards, Bigfoot29

To EVERYONE who thinks Panda3D is not actively developed, here’s the counterproof: